About Us


About the Supreme Council

The Ancient and Accepted Scottish Rite in each country is governed by a Supreme Council. There is no international governing body—each Supreme Council in each country is sovereign unto itself. In the U.S. there are two Supreme Councils.

The Northern Masonic Jurisdiction (NMJ) is located in Lexington, Massachusetts, and the Southern Jurisdiction (SJ) is centered in Washington, D.C. In the Southern Jurisdiction, individual states are referred to as Orients and local bodies are organized into Valleys; the Northern Masonic Jurisdiction refers to State organizations as Councils of Deliberation and the local bodies are also organized into Valleys.

Map of states for the Scottish Rite bodies

Each Valley has up to four Scottish Rite bodies, and each body confers a set of degrees. In the Northern Masonic Jurisdiction, the bodies are:
Lodge of Perfection (4°–14°)
Council of Princes the of Jerusalem (15°–16°)
Chapter of Rose Croix (17°–18°)
Consistory (19°–32°).

The 29 Degrees of Scottish Rite Masonry

  • 4° Master Traveler
  • 5° Perfect Master
  • 6° Master of the Brazen Serpent
  • 7° Provost and Judge
  • 8° Intendant of the Building
  • 9° Master of the Temple
  • 10° Master Elect
  • 11° Sublime Master Elected
  • 12° Master of Mercy
  • 13° Master of the Ninth Arch
  • 14° Grand Elect Mason
  • 15° Knight of the East
  • 16° Prince of Jerusalem
  • 17° Knight of the East and West
  • 18° Knight of the Rose Croix
  • 19° Brothers of the Trail
  • 20° Master ad Vitam
  • 21° Patriarch Noachite
  • 22° Prince of Libanus
  • 23° Knight of Valor
  • 24° Brother of the Forest
  • 25° Master of Achievement
  • 26° Friend and Brother Eternal
  • 27° Knight of Jerusalem
  • 28° Knight of the Sun
  • 29° Knight of St. Andrew
  • 30° Grand Inspector
  • 31° Knight Aspirant
  • 32° Sublime Prince of the Royal Secret